good | bad | profile | email | design | diaryland
11.16.05
11.16.05 - 7:30 a.m.

[wrote this last night, but internet wasn't working, so here you go]

I will admit something: I�m not generally someone who listens to the radio. Now, I�m not someone who is all �corporate radio can suck it!� and other various rantings. No, I just never really found anything I liked. That, and I get annoyed easily when there are commercials every 8 minutes.

However.. The past couple days? I�ve been listening to the radio. A lot. And by �a lot�, I mean if I�m home, my stereo is tuned in. Unless its either Tuesday or Wednesday night at 8pm (NCIS and America�s Next Top Model, respectively). I used to have my television on a lot, I liked to have background noise.

But no, its all radio for me, baby. Or mp3s. Or cds. Really, right now I�m about at: 75% radio, 15% mp3s and 10% cds.

The station? WIDR 89.1. It is a student-run noncommercial radio station of Western Michigan University, which is here in Kalamazoo. (www.widr.org)

No commercials + excellent music = me having a joygasm.

I want to run away to Canada with WIDR, marry it, and live in human/radio bliss.

You�re all invited to the ceremony. Please bring fondue pots and coffee makers. (mm, coffee)

:: :: ::

This morning before work, I was on my way to the flea market when I realized something: I�m turning into my mom.

Evidence:

a) I was on my way to a flea market before I went to work. I work at 8am. I was on my way to the flea market at 7am.

b) I went to flea markets almost every weekend this summer.

c) The increase in my coffee consumption.

d) I seem to getting up earlier and earlier. Today, I was up at 6:30am, before my alarm went off. Even on the weekends, I can go to bed by 2am, and still be up by 7am. Without setting an alarm.

e) I�ve taken to driving around with my coffee cup (gas station coffee because I don�t own a coffee maker) in hand, instead of in my car�s cup holder. Because cup holders are for pussies.

If I had a cigarette in my other hand, my transformation would be complete.

Evidence that I am just turning old in general:

I grocery shop like an old lady. Granted, one who walks faster, but still. Case in point: I was at the grocery store, standing in line behind an old lady, about 65-ish. On the conveyor, she had: almonds, a salad, organic juice, two random vegetables.

I had: avocado, tomato, 8 pack of eggs*, plastic bag with 3 apples.

If I didn�t know any better, I�d think I was turning 63 on Monday, not 23.

*Why can�t you buy a half dozen of eggs? I don�t want 12 eggs, I don�t want 8 eggs. I want 6. Fuckers. I want my $0.75 back.

I�m at the grocery store about 3 times a week, buying a couple things a time. I only buy what I need, and never buy any frozen things (except for the tiny box of frozen peas that is � empty. Which I�ve had for about 3 months). The only thing in my freezer aside from those peas are ice cubes.

I eat pretty healthy (which you wouldn�t know if you saw me since I have bit of a belly [however, I have absolutely no ass] ). Except for when I go to subway or taco bell (however, I go to those maybe once every couple weeks), I don�t eat fast food. I make things from scratch (made a pot pie Sunday to last me the week) fairly often. Tomorrow I�m starting to make bread from scratch (also for pussies: bread machines).

I was talking to my mom while at work today. She always seems surprised when she hears about what I cooked/will be cooking (or baking). Once, I was telling her about something I made the night before, it might have been soup, and she said �you�d make someone a good girlfriend.�

And she�s right. I cook, clean, knit, can fix some things around the house or vehicles, and useful at doing things like shoveling snow. And enjoy having sex.

I�m an awesome girlfriend. I would totally date me.

So why the hell am I single?

Listening to: WIDR 89.1 10pm - midnight is reggae music

earlier - later