good | bad | profile | email | design | diaryland
holiday hootenany
12.26.02 - 11:42 p.m.

so. holiday hootenanies.

hootenany of the first: christmas eve found myself, the parent and the brother at grandpa and sal's. along with sal's 3 girls, and their respective children and husbands. and because this half of my family are country folk, we do things like watching hunting shows on tv. and so we did. i learned different bowhunting techniques. and how to best do different shots when bowhunting deer. this was accompanied by comments from my uncle kelly, who was telling me other ways to get another nice low shot right through a deer's heart. we ('we' being kelly, my uncle jason, my grandpa and myself) also watched 'gold fever', which is a gold prospecting show. really, if you can, you must watch it. the host wandered into a cave and crawled through tight holes and found some gold. and then his lantern went out. so then he had to find his way out without any light (he decided not to backtrack through a very tight crawlspace). and it was horrible and tacky and they didn't edit very well. it was fab.

also? santa called us. no, really. sal's brother jim plays a santa down in flordia, and he called and talked to all the kids, pretending he was santa. you should have seen it. it was amazing. all the kids were in awe.

i also watched two of my little cousins for and hour or so. kennedy who is 2, and michaela who is 5. michaela told me that i'm cool, and kennedy kept staring at my lip ring and told me "take out! take out!" while pointing to her lip. it was awfully cute.

and i had a sudden realization while i was babysitting. i think one day, i might like a kid of my own. no, really. i mean, i'd like one when i'm more settled down and whatnot. perhaps settled down with a wife and all that good stuff. personally, i think i'd make a damn fine parent.

seriously.

stop laughing at me.

______

hootenany of the second: christmas morning, we opened presents (i have a new stereo! hoorah!) and then i put together the new bookcase mom got me. then mom and i went out and shoveled the driveway. then we came in and started dinner. the dad came over, and we all had dinner. the dad didn't comment on my lip ring either. when i opened the door, he just kinda stared at me, blinked and then said "hi". oh yes. holiday fun for all.

dinner was actually quite good (mm, sweet potatoes).

and dad told us that on saturday, we're going to grandma leona's. so, i get to listen to her complain about all the usual (lack of boyfriend/my hair/my shoes/my clothes. and now, my lip ring. happy happy joy joy).

______

and tomorrow night, we're going to alice's and having dinner with her folks. which will be quite fun truthfully.

music: jimmy eat world

earlier - later