good | bad | profile | email | design | diaryland
that gatsby. he's so great.
04.10.02 - 3:05 p.m.

dear pam andrews #592847:

i have your copy of The Great Gatsby by Fitzgerald. although, i suppose you would know its by Fitzgerald since it used to be your book. i bought it at goodwill a few days ago (along with Dante's Inferno, The Stranger by Camus, and Sri Isopanisad by His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada. but maybe you don't care about those because they might not have belonged to you)

i had a few questions. what's with the number? would you explain some of your notes in the margins? i don't mind all the underlining you did, as i mark up all my books by underlining things that i think are either important, just make me pause and go "huh.", or make me get all giddy and say "fuck yeah!"

that's really all. i just wanted to say that i have your book and its in good hands. don't worry about all the writing. i like a book with history. it makes me wonder about all the people who had it before me. also, you have nice handwriting. much better then mine.

would you like to know my one of my favorite lines i have underlined in my books?

"I know he's dead! Don't you think I know that? I can still like him, though, can't I? Just because somebody's dead, you don't just stop liking them, for God's sake - especially if they were about a thousand times nicer than the people you know that're *alive* and all."

do you know where that's from? The Catcher in the Rye by Salinger. have you read it? i've read it about 10 times and i still love it.

i was flipping through your old copy of Gatsby, and i saw something you underlined that very much struck a cord with me.

'Everyone suspects himself of at least one of the cardinal virtues, and this is mine: I am one of the few honest people that I have ever known.'

keep groovin'

.me

earlier - later