good | bad | profile | email | design | diaryland
7.28.2005 (or The One with the Paintings and Ramblings)
07.28.05 - 9:58 p.m.

so. my paintings.

i wanted to do them kinda in an old school tattoo kinda way. if i was a better artist, they'd be better. but i'm not, so they're not, so tough shit.

///

my first one started mainly because i was listening to Brand New, and i liked some of the lines in a song.

'i'm begging you to please stop breaking my heart because i got the feeling that you and i will never really get it on / so i'll leave my door open all night in case you decide you want to stop on by / because you got to know who's been singing that song on the radio / the one that goes "girl come to me. the only broken hearted loser you'll ever need"'

i started this on a monday. little did i know that i would end up being a really bad psychic. my girlfriend at the time broke up with me just a few days later (that thursday).

i didn't get done with it for almost a week and a half later, mainly because most of that time was spent being mopey and spent in lansing getting really drunk with my friend/cousin.

and that latter part was really really fun.

it was good for me to do though. helped me release some frustrations and various things that i was feeling.

painting: broken hearted loser

///

the second one.

if you know me, you know that i am very protective of those i care about. i will do everything in my power to protect them, and i know they would do the same for me. i consider my friends part of my family.

that is really all you need to know about this one.

painting: friends + family

///

that last one came to me when i was listening to johnny cash one day at work. it was a cover of a song by steve earle.

'the trial was in the morning, and they drug me out of bed / asked me how i pleaded, not guilty i said / not guilty i said, you've got the wrong man / nothing touched the trigger but the devil's right hand / the devil's right hand, the devil's right hand / momma says the pistol is the devil's right hand'

painting: devil's right hand

///

and that's it.

now, i'm off to make dinner. baked potato with cottage cheese on top.

tastes much better than it sounds.

music: digger

earlier - later